Moderator Nominees

The Moderator will be elected from among the Commissioners of the 43rd General Council.

All nominees are asked to submit a biographical statement (max. 500 words) and a personal statement about the major issues they see facing the United Church (500–1000 words) by June 1, 2018. We are posting links to this information below as we receive it.

(Nominees are listed below in alphabetical order. Watch this page for regular updates. You can also view the information in French.)

Moderator Nominee Susan Beaver

Rev. Susan Beaver
Ordained Minister
Nominated by Plains Presbytery (All Native Circle Conference)
Read Susan's profile [PDF]

Moderator Nominee Tessa Blaikie Whitecloud

Tessa Blaikie Whitecloud
Nominated by Winnipeg Presbytery (Conference of Manitoba and Northwestern Ontario)
Read Tessa's profile [PDF]

Moderator Nominee Richard Bott

Rev. Dr. Richard Bott
Ordained Minister
Nominated by Vancouver South Presbytery (British Columbia Conference)
Read Richard's profile [PDF]

Moderator Nominee David Hart

Rev. David Hart
Ordained Minister
Nominated by Halifax Presbytery (Maritime)
Read David's profile [PDF]

Moderator Nominee Cathy Larmond

Rev. Cathy Larmond
Ordained Minister
Nominated by Kent Presbytery (London)
Read Cathy's profile [PDF]

Moderator Nominee Catherine Faith MacLean

Rev. Dr. Catherine Faith MacLean
Ordained Minister
Nominated by Edmonton Presbytery (Alberta and Northwest Conference)
Read Catherine's profile [PDF]

Moderator Nominee Dr. Colin Phillips

Dr. Colin Phillips
Nominated by Toronto South East Presbytery (Toronto)
Read Colin's profile [PDF]

Moderator Nominee Rev. Wanda Stride

Rev. Wanda Stride *
Ordained Minister
Nominated by Kawartha Highlands Presbytery (Bay of Quinte Conference)
Read Wanda's profile [PDF]

Moderator Nominee Rev. Dr. Martha ter Kuile

Rev. Dr. Martha ter Kuile
Ordained Minister
Nominated by Toronto South East Presbytery (Toronto)
Read Martha's profile [PDF]

Moderator Nominee Rev. Donalee Williams

Rev. Donalee Williams
Ordained Minister
Nominated by Yellowhead Presbytery (Alberta and Northwest Conference)
Read Donalee's profile [PDF]

Please note: Chris Levan has withdrawn his nomination after receiving a new call to ministry.

* Nominees must be Commissioners at the 43rd General Council in order to have their name appear on the ballot for Moderator. This individual is not currently a Commissioner.